Its that time of the year again

It’s that time of the year again when the excitement begins to build in anticipation for golu. Planning is at a feverish pitch now! The steps have been set up; the dolls have come out of the basement to grace our living area and are waiting to be put on display tomorrow. Pooja plans have been completed, invitee lists have been prepared, invites have been sent out, the menu has been planned, gifts have been packed and what’s left is the most exciting task of all – select my saris and accessories! I look forward to this season every year without fail. What is it about this festival that excites me?

• It celebrates women – probably one of the few festivals in any culture that celebrates women and this has been in existence from hundreds of years ago.

• The festival goes on for 10 full days – so ten full days of excitement and partying!

• You visit people you haven’t visited in a year (since the last golu that is)!

• You eat eat eat (which these days is not such a great thing). I used to eat without a care but with my growing girth, I’ve had to cut down on my over indulgence!!

• DRESS up!! This is when I have a legitimate reason to dress up. While you celebrate goddesses, you can’t look bad!! I know I am pathetic but little things like this excite me.

Memories of golu during childhood years are still fresh in my memory. I am not sure if any child today would be excited about dressing up as Gods and Goddesses and walking on the streets in that costume to visit golu’s in other houses but that’s what excited me most! We were special because we could dress up as Gods!! We probably looked ridiculous but no one ever said anything : )

I have to confess that while I enjoy the excitement of this festival, I absolutely HATE packing the dolls away after their hour of glory and pulling things apart when it’s over! Why do all good things have to come to an end??

This year however has been just so hectic and busy that I think I will look forward to the time after Diwali … put my tired feet up, go to the beach, read and be happy and rested until I go away to India in the end of the year!

2 thoughts on “Its that time of the year again

  1. sathi September 18, 2009 / 5:16 pm

    must be reminding you your childhood memoriesspent with your father&mother.I remember the days you dressed like an angel and visit the houses for the festival.it still green in my memory and those days cannot come now. Now we live aloneleaving all of you which makes me very sad.

    appa

  2. myanasworth September 18, 2009 / 8:04 pm

    Me too appa … wish we could all live close to each other : (

Leave a Reply

