It only gets better 1 – Story of the mystery present

Background: I’ve been married nearly 21 years and with all the warm and fuzzy now a thing of the past, you’d think my life is boring – yes? NO!

Proof point number 1 ….

Hubbie: “Ana, I’ve bought you a beautiful Christmas present. It’s really cool.”

Me: “Don’t tell me you’ve bought another laptop??” (he buys stuff like this and tells me the day before it gets delivered)

H: “No, why would I buy a laptop?” and shakes his head M: “Ok, you’ve bought another camera.”

H: “No, its not electronics. You’ll really like it. Wait until it arrives.”

Two days later ….

H: “Did you see your present? It’s in the foyer.”

I walk up to the foyer and see a huge box. It is a barbeque unit! By now I’ve learnt to expect almost anything, so I am really not surprised or shocked but curious as to why I’d love a bbq unit!

M: “Are you alright? Why would I be excited about a bbq unit?”

H: “Why not? It’s cool!” – said with a very innocent look on the face!

M: “What would a vego do with a bbq unit?”

H: “See, that’s the thing! We won’t have to cook chicken on your stove. We can use this now.”

M: “!#$!@#!@$!@#$#$%@#$%@!$#!$!”

Anyway, two days later ….

H: “Ana, I’ve bought you another present for Christmas because you didn’t like the last one.”

M: “What now?” He points me to a pack of DVD’s. I walk closer and find a whole collection of Dilbert DVD’s. Now I really am not a cartoon person at all. So I ask him ..

M: “So this is for me?”

H: “Yeah just for you .. so we can watch it together” with a smile on his face …

How can he even say and do all of this with a straight face?

6 thoughts on “It only gets better 1 – Story of the mystery present

  1. Guddi December 21, 2009 / 3:39 pm

    When you go to return the DVDs n BBQ unit, you can try to return him too.. just let me know when, so I can pick him up at a discounted rate from returned items rack!! 🙂 He’s sweet, Ana but dumb.. what can you do?!?

  2. Sands December 21, 2009 / 4:51 pm

    I can just picture the whole scene 🙂 Enjoy all the chicken cooking. Mine upgraded his house to get the outdoor barbecue 😉

  3. myanasworth December 21, 2009 / 7:14 pm

    As if this wasn’t enough he went to Reva aunty and invited her for paal kaachi kudikkaradu (the inauguration) for his bbq. She just laughed!

    Gudds, you can have him now if you want!! He is very sweet 🙂

  4. Sands December 22, 2009 / 10:57 pm

    He needs to so come visit us. He will just absolutely love our backyard and patio. I just know it 🙂

  5. friend December 23, 2009 / 11:22 am

    I fear your husband is either seriously innocent, or a very good, not so innocent, stirrer. That was a nice chuckle.

    • myanasworth December 23, 2009 / 6:43 pm

      I’d go with the latter – master stirrer!!

Leave a Reply

