Besant Nagar Chronicles

Some things just do not change …

The house hasn’t changed

The people in the house haven’t changed

The mad pace of the house hasn’t changed

The fights haven’t stopped

The nature of the fights haven’t changed

The madness in the house hasn’t changed

The neighbourhood hasn’t changed much (crowds notwithstanding …)

The chime of the doorbell hasn’t changed The number of times the doorbell rings hasn’t changed

The never ending stream of visitors remains unchanged

The vegetable vendor’s ‘kai kai kai kai’ call is unchanged

The guy who collects recycling still yells ‘pazhaya paal buddi cover papaaaar’ as he cycles past the house

The standard breakfast during December is still Pongal from the temple

 Anna still comes to the temple as do all the ‘mami’s’

Thursday Ladies Club still rock on with their activities and all the aunties are still resplendent as ever in their colourful saris

Sales people still come on a daily basis to sell us ware

There is constant excitement in the air

The day is always eventful

Some people like me are lucky. We can still go to our childhood home and relive our memories. I live my life in a totally different world to the one I grew up in and constantly reminisce about my childhood. Then I travel for 11 hours and find that the childhood home that my memories are made of still exists!! Of course, some faces are missing, other faces are older and greyer but the world still exists.

I am grateful that my children have been given a glimpse of this mad but beautiful world. My daughter has lived, revelled in and enjoyed this madness for a month now and her comment at the end of the month sums it all up for me – “Amma, your life was a lot more fun than ours. I wish I could grow up here …”

I hope and pray to God that he grants me this luxury for years to come!

7 thoughts on “Besant Nagar Chronicles

  1. Guddi January 27, 2010 / 11:22 pm

    Ana.. Have been talking to people from my school days n have been living the same emotions you just shared.. I guess that is home, na?

    • Anu January 27, 2010 / 11:39 pm

      Darling … I’ve missed you : )

  2. Sands January 28, 2010 / 5:40 pm

    can relate to it all and was just visualizing it as I read your words. I am waiting for the day I can get to that point and travel home more often to relive memories and hang out with grandma and grandpa 🙂

    • myanasworth January 28, 2010 / 9:36 pm

      Whats stopping you now? Do it girl – its FUN!!

  3. பார்த்தி February 1, 2010 / 3:41 am

    தமிழிலெ எழுதணுமா? எனக்குத் தெரிஞ்சுடுத்து! ஆனா ரொம்ப கஷ்ட்டமா இருக்கு!

  4. sathi February 1, 2010 / 1:50 pm

    Hope Appa is not changed.Appa is the same person what you saw years back.

    Appa

    • myanasworth February 1, 2010 / 11:48 pm

      Appa has changed – he has become much much CUTER and he just gets more handsome everyday!!!

Leave a Reply

