Growing up

The apple of my eye – someone that I absolutely dote on has started a new job – a job selling cleaning products. It is a commission based selling job and he only gets paid if he sells which means if he doesn’t sell he comes back empty handed. So there is the constant pressure to keep the money coming in.  He has been doing very well and is very pumped by his capacity to sell. He has filled his kitty in less than two weeks. Needless to say I am very happy for him and proud of him.  He has really taken responsibility for his life and grown up but in the last few weeks, I’ve heard these disturbing statements ..

“I know who is most likely to buy from me. I never bother with younger chics unless they are very attractive. I use this as an opportunity to chat them up …. even though I know they’ll never buy.”

“Customers who are most likely to buy from me are middle aged to old ladies. I flirt with them hopelessly and they always buy. They’re happy and I am happy!”

“Women generally say to me – ‘oh you’re so charming.  You’re good – I am only buying this for you’!!”

“I have a strategy for selling. To a guy always talk about his car and how the products keep his car sparkling. To a woman always talk about her house and how the products can make cleaning really easy.”

“You know the reason I like selling – because I get to manipulate people and when they buy it means I have successfully manipulated them. It gives me a feeling of power …”

My young man has always been the most straight, honest and innocent person I’ve known.  I am still pondering on whether to be concerned or happy that he is learning the ruthless, conniving ways of the world!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

4 thoughts on “Growing up

  1. Guddi February 2, 2010 / 4:55 pm

    🙂 …
    Thats all I can do…:) some more..:)

    • myanasworth February 2, 2010 / 9:56 pm

      I’d like to be a fly on the wall when he flirts … thats all I ask. It would be so cute!!

  2. Sands February 2, 2010 / 4:55 pm

    he needs to learn the ruthless conniving world as well. We just have to make sure he leaves that at the door when he gets home 🙂

    • myanasworth February 2, 2010 / 9:56 pm

      Oh be assured he practises the art of manipulation at home : )

Leave a Reply

