Vidar Mugai Adukkathu – Kurunthogai 218

விடர் முகை அடுக்கத்து விறல் கெழு சூலிக்கு

கடனும் பூணாம்; கை நூல் யாவாம்;

புள்ளும் ஓராம்; விரிச்சியும் நில்லாம்;

உள்ளலும் உள்ளாம் அன்றே தொழி! –

உயிர்க்கு உயிர் அன்னர் ஆகலின். தம் இன்று

இமைப்பு வரை அமையா நம் வயின்

மறந்து ஆண்டு அமைதல் வல்லியோர் மாட்டே

பாலை

Vidar mugai adukkathu viral kezhu soolikku

Kadanum poonam; kai nool yaavaam;

Pullum oraam; virichiyum nillam;

Ullalum Ullam andre – Thozhi!-

Uyirkku Uyir annar aahalin, tham indru

Imaippu varia amaiya nam vayin

Marandu aandu amaidal valliyor maatte

Translation

Let us not make vows to the ever-victorious goddess Sooli (on the cracked ranges)

Let us not tie sacred thread on our wrists

Let us not ask birds for good omens

Let us not seek good signs

No, let us not spare a thought for him.

If he thinks he has the strength to stay away wherever he has gone

forgetting me

who cannot ever bear for the blink of an eyelid separation

from him

who is the breath of my life

Context

A woman is separated from her beloved.  She moans the fact that while she cannot bear separation from him even for a moment, he seems to have the power to stay away from her.  She thinks to herself, he dominates my mind and thoughts to the point that I cannot think of anything but him.  I constantly look for omens signalling his arrival and hope and pray for his arrival but he lives in a faraway land totally oblivious of me.  Her pride reacts to what she sees as his rebuttal and she says to her friend – if he can live without me, I am not going to think of him either.  I am not going to pray for his arrival, I am not going to look for good signs signalling his arrival .. I am going to try and erase him from my thoughts!!

Me says – an exercise in futility!! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Vidar Mugai Adukkathu – Kurunthogai 218

  1. Sands February 11, 2010 / 11:06 pm

    why do you say it is an exercise in futility. If you let the mind rule your heart, this isn’t impossible. Am sure it is not an easy task but not impossible either, IMHO 🙂

    • myanasworth February 11, 2010 / 11:43 pm

      Sands, this is not your practical Sands inspired ‘mind rules the heart’ kind of woman who is raving about her lost love. Obviously, it is a woman whose ‘heart rules her mind’. Appo exercise in futility … right??

  2. Guddi February 12, 2010 / 2:09 am

    Rula diya, Ana! 🙂 but to shed tears in love must be a good feeling in its own weird way na?

    • myanasworth February 12, 2010 / 5:04 am

      I’d say so!

  3. The Print Lover February 12, 2010 / 4:59 pm

    Wow! My tamil class memories come flooding through.

    I could not understand anything until I read your explanation 😦 Are you following some text or you get that tamil?

    • myanasworth February 12, 2010 / 8:28 pm

      Hi there … thanks for writing in. No I don’t get it at first sight either (its a bit like a puzzle) 🙂 but I have a word by word translation. I sort of string the words together try to build the context … for some I have the English translation too. I am only doing it because there are so many beautiful poems and none of us know anything about it! So progressive and passionate two thousand years ago .. up until now, I’ve not seen reference to religion, caste or creed in any of these poems. AMAZING stuff.

      • The Print Lover February 13, 2010 / 3:16 am

        I bought “Sundara kandam” during my last trip. This makes me wanna read that. That’s the closest Tamil literature I’ve got. You’ve read that?

Leave a Reply

