Maa Ena Madalum – Kurunthogai 17

This has got to be the most interesting Kurunthogai I’ve read.  A classic!  Centuries may have gone by but men obviously haven’t changed!!!!!  This is actually quite hilarious and because this is such a classic, I am going to give you the original translation by Mr A.K. Ramanujan and not take away the literary effect by giving my dodgy translation!!

I swear to God, I did NOT tweak his original translation to humour the feminist in me!!!!!!!  Its so true though – and you know what is worse …….. I have a very visual mind 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 😉

குறிஞ்சி

மா என மடலும் ஊர – பூ எனக்

குவிமுகிழ் எருக்கங் கண்ணியும் சூடுப

மருகின் ஆர்க்கவும் படுப

பிறிதும் ஆகுப – காமம் காழ்கொளினே

பேரெயின் முறுவலார்

As Translated by A K Ramanujan

“What He Said

When love is ripe beyond bearing and goes to seed,

Men will ride even Palmyra stems as if they were horses;

Will wear on their heads the reeking cones of the erukkam bud

As if they were flowers;

Will draw to themselves the laughter of the streets;

And will do worse.”

8 thoughts on “Maa Ena Madalum – Kurunthogai 17

  1. Devi April 12, 2010 / 6:38 am

    I love this.. This is classic!!

  2. ana April 12, 2010 / 10:03 am

    🙂 அன்று முதல் இன்று வரை மனிதன் மாறவில்லை 🙂

  3. Velan July 11, 2010 / 2:45 pm

    Actually Sujatha (Writer) gave me the following xplanation..

    குதிரைபோல பனைமடல் மேல்
    ஏறிக்கொள்வார்கள். எருக்கம்பூவைச் சூடுவார்கள்.
    பிறர் சிரித்தாலும் மதிக்கமாட்டார்கள்
    காதல் வசப்பட்டவர்கள்…

    And the blog is good. Really informative.. Really appreciate the try that u made to give explanation on ur own…

    • myanasworth July 11, 2010 / 8:06 pm

      Hi Velan, this translation is based on Mr A K Ramanujam’s version …… and to me they are very similar interpretations. Don’t you think?

      • Vela July 13, 2010 / 5:19 am

        Yeah.. I agree, but with a minimum change in clarity… 😉

  4. myanasworth July 13, 2010 / 6:00 am

    Yeah alright … I am partial to Mr Rangarajan too … a pity he went so early. He had so much to offer!

  5. Sivakumar April 5, 2012 / 11:10 am

    We are in the journey of reading Kurunthogai, Can i know authentic translation for Kurunthogai in English…?

    • myanasworth April 11, 2012 / 7:10 am

      I refer to A K Ramanujam. for Puranaanooru, I also refer to Sujatha’s translation in Tamil.

Leave a Reply

