Cold and Flu Season …

Its change of season time and the first signs of winter are starting to show at my end of the woods. This means half the population is sniffing away or blowing their noses without a care in the world. Of course, I am no exception. I have a really bad cold – so bad that I have exhausted nearly two boxes of tissues .. so bad that I can’t say ‘ma’ properly. My nose is so blocked that when I say Monday it sounds like Bunday, when I say Mani Mama it sounds like Bani Baba …. alright alright, I won’t say no more. You get the picture!!!

At times like this you’d expect some TLC (Tender Loving Care). With a MAD partner, here’s what I got ……

Incident 1

Me: aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa (pausing to grab a tissue) ticccchooooooooooo

Him: Can you please grab two tissues … otherwise I’ll fall sick

Me: grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Incident 2

I go to the balcony to get some afternoon sun hoping that some fresh sunlight will dry up my cold.

My smartarse partner: Hey, can you stand over the potted plant and let your nose run. The plant will be watered and we can save some water (and laughs!!!!)

Me: #$!$#!%$%@$^%^#%#%#&%#^#^

Alright alright, he did make up for it by ‘baking be sobe dice soup’ (making me some nice soup, I mean)!!

And while on the topic of colds here are some useful home made remedies to help you with your cold and cough.

Steam inhalation

At the first sign of cold, mix half a teaspoon of eucalyptus oil into some boiling water and inhale for about 2 minutes. I promise you, it will help reduce the intensity and let you breathe easier!!

Cough/Throat infection

  • Mix a teaspoon of turmeric with a teaspoon of honey and eat it slowly. It tastes disgusting but it does soothe the throat.
  • Mix chitharathi (Thai Ginger) powder with honey and eat it. This surely makes your cough go away.
  • If you can stand the taste of ginger, chew on some fresh ginger as often as you can. It has two benefits – it gets rid of the cough but it also tastes so disgusting that it suppresses your hunger. You could possibly even benefit by losing a couple of pounds!!
  • Mix turmeric and pepper in hot milk and drink this terrible concoction and you will feel MUCH better.

Why is my cold not better if I know so many cures? Coz I am lazy and haven’t bothered doing any of the above!! You have to take time to do it ….

3 thoughts on “Cold and Flu Season …

  1. kayalvizhi May 17, 2010 / 4:17 am

    Try taking some garlic.

    Also drink lots of warm water with lemon juice in it. Continue during winter months & you won’t get cold; even if you do, it will be less intense.

  2. myanasworth May 17, 2010 / 11:36 pm

    Thank you!!! Will do ….

  3. Sands May 18, 2010 / 4:28 pm

    I can imagine the MAD partner saying all of those things 🙂 The kids here are down as well. One missed school yesterday and the other is hanging in there like a trooper 🙂

Leave a Reply

