Min Olir Avir Aral – Kalithogai 55 translation

It is amazing how nothing has changed in the last two thousand or so years.  Man still sweet talks when he wants a woman and a woman still wants to believe that his flattery is genuine.  Even though she truly realises that a man in lust cannot be trusted, the heart refuses acknowledge this – she lies to herself and her friend!  What a CURSE!!

A beautiful poem from the Kalithogai by Kapilar.

மின் ஒளிர் அவிர் அறல் இடை போழும் பெயலேபோல்

பொன் அகை தகை வகிர் வகை நெறி வயங்கிட்டு,

போழ் இடை இட்டகமழ் நறும் பூங் கோதை

இன் நகை, இலங்கு எயிற்று, தேம் மொழி துவர் செவ் வாய்,

நன்னுதால்! நினக்கு ஒன்று கூறுவாம்; கேள், இனி

நில் என்று நிறுத்தான்; நிறுத்தே வந்து

நுதலும் முகனும், தோளும், கண்ணும்

இயலும், சொல்லும், நோக்குபு நினைஇ

’ஐ தேய்ந்தன்று, பிறையும் அன்று;

மை தீர்ந்தன்று, மதியும் அன்று;

வேய் அமன்றன்று, மலையும் அன்று;

பூ அமன்றன்று, சுணையும் அன்று;

மெல்ல இயலும், மயிலும் அன்று;

சொல்லத் தளரும், கிளியும் அன்று’

என ஆங்கு,

அனையன பல பாறாட்டி, பையென,

வலைவர் போல, சோர் பலர் ஒற்றி,

புலையர் போல, புன்கண் நோக்கி,

தொழலும் தொழுதான்; தொடலும் தொட்டான்;

காழ் வரை நில்லாக் கடுங் களிறு அன்னோன்

தொழூஉம்; தொடூஉம்; அவன் தன்மை

ஏழைத் தன்மையோ இல்லை, தோழி!

கபிலர், கலித்தொகை 55

’Oh your hair’, he said,’ like the clouds moving between branches of lightning.

It parts five ways between ornaments made of gold, braided with flowers.

‘Oh your smile, your sparkling teeth, sweet words like honey and mouth as red as coral,

Oh fair brow, I want to tell you something, please stop and listen,’

He said and stopped me.

He came closer to look at my brow, my hands, my eyes, my walk, my speech,

and said searching for metaphors:

‘Amazed, it grows small but it isn’t the crescent,

unblemished, it isn’t the moon,

like bamboo, yet not on the hill,

lotuses, but there is no pool,

beautiful walk, but no peacock.

The words languish, yet not a parrot,’ and so on ..

He praised me and my parts with words gentle and sly

and looked for my weakening like a hunter with a net stalking an animal,

watched me as my heart melted, stared at me like a butcher at his prey,

Oh he worshipped me, he touched me O he touched me,

A senseless lusting elephant nothing could hold back

Worship and touch again he did,

but believe me friend, I still think he is not a fool by nature!!

5 thoughts on “Min Olir Avir Aral – Kalithogai 55 translation

  1. Dravidian June 23, 2012 / 10:50 am

    Very nice. Do you know of any Perunthinai songs in kalithokai?

    • myanasworth June 24, 2012 / 9:59 pm

      Hi thank you so much for your comments! Perunthinai songs in Kalithokai .. I can look for them. I am not an expert .. just learning myself. Will look for them : )

      • myanasworth June 25, 2012 / 2:55 am

        Interesting .. but nothing since November 11?

      • Dravidian June 25, 2012 / 3:15 am

        Withdrawal syndrome, writer’s block, just plain laziness. Or depression. Pala karanangal. Worthwhile since it gave me more time to read and introspect. And enjoy blogs such as yours…

Leave a Reply

