This apple has fallen far from the tree!!

It is very unlike me to write a blog about my family or anything personal for that matter because I am a fiercely private person and hate bragging! This blog is an exception and I have been inspired to write this by my beautiful daughter – this child is beautiful inside out.

As a teenager, I was the biggest bludger on the face of earth. I was unfocused, had no goals worth mentioning and wasted day after day. If I did well, it was by pure fluke and if I didn’t I can’t say it bothered me much at all. Studying for an exam meant slogging two days before the exam to avoid being a disappointment to my parents and to salvage some personal dignity!!

I watch my daughter Shaz today and I have to say I am impressed, humbled, proud, all at the same time. Shaz is in her HSC, the most important year of her school life. She has assignments, tests, projects pretty much every day. Pressure is the norm. I watch this child effortlessly wade through stuff in an organised way. Never are assignments left to the last minute. She is always focused, ahead of time and determined. She asked me a couple of weeks ago, how much do you think I will score in my HSC and I said ‘in your 90’s probably’. Her response ‘amma I want to get at least 96%. Otherwise I will not be happy. I want to be that person in school that all my juniors look up to. I want my name to be announced in the assembly and I will work towards that.’ I look at her and cringe at the thought of what I used to be!! Of course, I haven’t told her that …

The child compartmentalises, multitasks and manages her life beautifully:

  • She is blitzing through her tests and assignments! She is teachers’ pet and they all have only nice things to say about her,
  • she is making an outfit for her costume day. She wants to dress like Pocahontas and is sewing her own costume. She has never learnt sewing formally but is making her own outfit through trial and error,
  • she still pursues her hobbies. She had a performance last weekend (which I tried to talk her out of but she wouldn’t hear of it). Rehearsals were on every night. She had exams and assignments due throughout the rehearsal period and the week following. She took her books to rehearsals and whenever she was not dancing she was studying or doing her assignment. (BTW, she performed on Saturday and was amazing on stage!!),
  • she makes time to help/counsel her friends when they show signs of stress .. she is the designated agony aunt,
  • she still makes time to watch all her favourite TV shows and
  • she makes time for her family. She always makes time for her brother and her mum. She comes in to my room and says – ‘I miss talking to you’, lies on my bed with me and talks to me!!!

None of those high school romances for her either. Her rationale – I am not old enough and I don’t want to be distracted. Maybe when I am in Uni but for now, friends are good enough for me!! And as if this is not enough she deactivates Facebook without any prompting when she feels it is distracting her!! Her only disgrace is her room – the room looks like it’s been hit by a storm ALWAYS. But that aside, she is PERFECT!!
The child is GOLD and what I did to deserve her – I don’t know! I want it to be known how proud I am of her. My message to her – Shaz, I wish I could have been like you. What you eventually will end up doing I don’t know, how well you will do in life, I have a fair idea – you’ll do the best you possibly can, but that you will be the best daughter, I have no doubts whatsoever!! I hope you never EVER change!!

6 thoughts on “This apple has fallen far from the tree!!

  1. Aparna June 28, 2011 / 3:56 am

    Nice post! You’re not a tiger-mum, are you ? 😉

  2. Ana June 28, 2011 / 4:15 am

    Hardly .. quite the opposite actually. I distract her endlessly and make her watch movies with me 🙂

    Lovely to meet you Aparna. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!!

  3. Sands June 28, 2011 / 3:57 pm

    And my eternal wish is that I had more time to hang out with her. Maybe someday I will 🙂 Please tell her am still waiting for her to send me the pictures of the performance that she promised me – when she has the time, of course 🙂

    • myanasworth June 29, 2011 / 12:06 am

      We didn’t take any pictures on the day. I was too busy singing and the dad was too busy alternating between wife and daughter …

    • myanasworth July 2, 2011 / 2:05 pm

      Why jealous???? I’ll post her Pocohontas pics too 🙂

Leave a Reply

